An Unheard Ambivert’s Guide to Creation

Image by Nuno Alberto

If an extrovert and introvert had a baby, they would have birthed me. To me, I find myself to be a somewhat interesting person – but not many people who are around me on a regular basis tend to see that. I’ve been told I’m calm. Collected. Not really one to get angry easily. But this just all the more begs the question: How does an ambivert with no friends get by?

An ambivert is a person who this is very quiet and self-oriented person when in the presence of others that they don’t know well – or in public places in general. When with people close to them, however, they tend to be the life of the party. They seem like a people person, they love the attention, and everyone around them always has a good time.

Being an ambivert can be hard when you need time to get to warm up to people yet you have this really itching desire to burst out into epiphanies; have them tell you there perspective on whatever you say. And yet, you can’t because by the time you warm up to them, the epiphany will have probably degraded into a mere dust of what once was.

There are so many things that I want to say. There are so many ideas that I wish to share and things that I come up with that I personally find very brilliant, but who am I supposed to share that too?

Here’s my therapy:  I do this really weird thing where I talk out loud – it’s a pretty human thing to do but I speak all the thoughts and all the epiphanies I have aloud rather than picking up my pen; then later I get mad at how I can’t recreate whatever I managed to say. Perhaps it’s my laziness or maybe my inability to document the exact right words that explain what I want to say; but speaking things aloud sets me free. Speaking out loud doesn’t come with the filter you have when you’re trying to write it down – whatever is in your head. This got to the point where, because I felt unheard, I bought a fish. His name’s Dog, and I started to tell him all my ideas.

It gets pretty frustrating when you have a lot in your mind and a sense of wisdom that can’t be projected into the world because of your personality type. To not have someone there to hear it, or have an audience in general, you don’t really know what to do with any of your thoughts and ideas until you just create your own platform where no one really knows who this is coming.

My advice to a struggling, independent, creative ambivert is to don’t wait up for people. When you create your ideas, when you create your thoughts and when you have something that you think could better the world, don’t wait for someone to listen. You can’t wait for an audience, you have to create and have them come to you. Perhaps the thing that was me holding back this entire time was my inability to find an audience and to find the right time to have someone listen. People aren’t going to wait up for you. If you create your ideas on your own you should be sharing them on your own and whoever follows, follows.

Leave a comment